BMX has a number of different events held throughout the year, from Club racing up to World Championships.

Club Racing

Clubs around Western Australia all race at different times and days or nights.  For a full list of WA clubs

and their times please check the Club location page here

Open Days

Are held by various club around the state throughout the year, nominations are available online.

Super Series

Are conducted by BMX Sports Western Australia as part of a State run series. Generally there are between 8 and 10 rounds per year around the state.  Riders may compete in as little or as many of these events as they choose. To qualify for the end of year awards, riders must complete the minimum required rounds.

Super Series events can attract over 500 riders per event, ranging in age from Mini Wheelers at 2 years up to the 50+ class.  These events are not possible without the help and assistance of all our clubs and volunteer officials throughout the year.

State Championships

State Championships are the pinnacle of BMX in Western Australia.  Each rider racing for the top spot in their age groups.  Mini Wheelers and Sprockets are awarded with participation awards, while all other riders are racing for points in order to gain a state plate.

Events are hosted around the State by both metro and country clubs and are held in October of each year.

National Series

BMX Australia conduct a special series for riders 14 years and above.  Mostly held in the early months of the year and leading up to the National Championships.  Races are held around Australia and gives riders the opportunity to race against some of the countries best.

National Championships

The next step up from States Championships is to compete at National Championships.  To qualify for National Championships you must compete at your preceding home State Championships.

These events attract over 3000 riders and are held over a week long event.

World Championships

The best of the best compete at the World Championships. After qualifying in the top 16 at National Championships in the age class categories, you then have the opportunity to compete at the World Championships.

Olympic Games

BMX was added to the Olympics in 2008 at the Beijing games, with a total of 4 Australian riders only, of which 2 of them were from Western Australia, Tanya Bailey and Nicole Callisto.  London was the next Olympic games in 2012 and another 2 extraordinary Western Australian riders, Lauren Reynolds and Khalen Young were included in the Australian BMX team.